W4POLITICS, a W4USA Network resource
Free public service for South Dakota votersNo candidate endorsementsGuide sources checked October 1, 2026General election November 3, 2026

Official state and federal campaign records

Reported campaign money by race

South Dakota candidates report through two disclosure systems. State candidates use the Secretary of State Campaign Finance Reporting System, while U.S. Senate and U.S. House candidates use Federal Election Commission records. Every displayed amount keeps its official source window and committee scope.

Read before comparing: The two verified state records are Pre-Primary report summaries filed May 18, 2026. Those report pages do not print a coverage-start date. Federal summaries run through June 30, 2026 and retain each candidate's actual coverage start. Other state candidates remain marked unavailable where an exact office-matching, machine-readable report summary was not verified. Missing data is unavailable, not $0.
Total incomeTotal expensesComparison unavailable
State candidate records

South Dakota statewide candidate committee reports

Search official state records

Two exact office-matching, machine-readable Pre-Primary report summaries were verified. Larry Rhoden's official report is a scanned image, and other candidates either lacked a verified disclosure summary or had only a statement of organization or a report for a different office. Those gaps are labeled rather than converted to zeroes.

SD Campaign Finance. verified reports available October 1, 2026

Governor and Lieutenant Governor

State records

State cards reproduce the report summary fields. The figures do not include independent spending by other groups.

Republican Party

Larry Rhoden & Tony Venhuizen

Search official records
Comparable summary unavailableMissing here does not mean $0.

An office-matching Larry Rhoden Pre-Primary report exists as an official scanned image. Exact summary fields were not transcribed because the official record was not machine-readable. Missing is not $0.

Democratic Party

Dan Ahlers & Steven McCleerey

View filing record
$67,870.96Total income
Total income$67,870.96Total expenses$8,706.76
Ending balance$59,164.20
Source-data check: Beginning balance plus income minus expenses equals the displayed ending balance.
All displayed fields and source notes
$0.00Beginning balance
$67,870.96Total income
$8,706.76Total expenses
$59,164.20Ending balance
$0.00Donated goods and services received

Source record: Ahlers for Governor, Pre-Primary, Report filed May 18, 2026; the official summary does not state a coverage-start date.

SD Campaign Finance. verified reports available October 1, 2026

Secretary of State

State records

State cards reproduce the report summary fields. The figures do not include independent spending by other groups.

Republican Party

Heather Baxter

Search official records
Comparable summary unavailableMissing here does not mean $0.

No exact office-matching Secretary of State financial summary was verified. An available Heather Baxter report was for a legislative office and was not reused.

Libertarian Party

Tamara J. Lesnar

Search official records
Comparable summary unavailableMissing here does not mean $0.

The official portal showed a statement of organization, but no comparable financial disclosure summary was verified. Missing is not $0.

Democratic Party

Terrence Davis

View filing record
$1,685.66Total income
Total income$1,685.66Total expenses$2,605.56
Ending balance$22,506.35
Source-data check: Beginning balance plus income minus expenses equals the displayed ending balance.
All displayed fields and source notes
$23,426.25Beginning balance
$1,685.66Total income
$2,605.56Total expenses
$22,506.35Ending balance
$0.00Donated goods and services received

Source record: Davis for South Dakota, Pre-Primary, Report filed May 18, 2026; the official summary does not state a coverage-start date.

SD Campaign Finance. verified reports available October 1, 2026

Attorney General

State records

State cards reproduce the report summary fields. The figures do not include independent spending by other groups.

Republican Party

Lance Russell

Search official records
Comparable summary unavailableMissing here does not mean $0.

No exact office-matching, machine-readable Attorney General financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0.

SD Campaign Finance. verified reports available October 1, 2026

State Auditor

State records

State cards reproduce the report summary fields. The figures do not include independent spending by other groups.

Republican Party

Catherine Barranco

Search official records
Comparable summary unavailableMissing here does not mean $0.

No exact office-matching, machine-readable State Auditor financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0.

Democratic Party

Tom Cool

Search official records
Comparable summary unavailableMissing here does not mean $0.

No exact office-matching, machine-readable State Auditor financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0.

SD Campaign Finance. verified reports available October 1, 2026

State Treasurer

State records

State cards reproduce the report summary fields. The figures do not include independent spending by other groups.

Republican Party

Melissa Hull

Search official records
Comparable summary unavailableMissing here does not mean $0.

No exact office-matching, machine-readable State Treasurer financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0.

Democratic Party

Margaret Kuipers

Search official records
Comparable summary unavailableMissing here does not mean $0.

An official statewide statement of organization was identified, but no comparable income and expense report summary was verified. Missing is not $0.

SD Campaign Finance. verified reports available October 1, 2026

Commissioner of School and Public Lands

State records

State cards reproduce the report summary fields. The figures do not include independent spending by other groups.

Republican Party

Brock Greenfield

Search official records
Comparable summary unavailableMissing here does not mean $0.

No exact office-matching, machine-readable Commissioner of School and Public Lands financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0.

Democratic Party

Raeann Mettler

Search official records
Comparable summary unavailableMissing here does not mean $0.

No exact office-matching, machine-readable Commissioner of School and Public Lands financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0.

SD Campaign Finance. verified reports available October 1, 2026

Public Utilities Commissioner

State records

State cards reproduce the report summary fields. The figures do not include independent spending by other groups.

Republican Party

Don Haggar

Search official records
Comparable summary unavailableMissing here does not mean $0.

No exact office-matching, machine-readable Public Utilities Commissioner financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0.

Democratic Party

Frank Kloucek

Search official records
Comparable summary unavailableMissing here does not mean $0.

No exact office-matching, machine-readable Public Utilities Commissioner financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0.

View all official state fields in one table

This table provides the same source fields in a compact format.

South Dakota state candidate finance records checked October 1, 2026
Candidate and source profileOfficeBallot affiliationBeginning balanceTotal incomeTotal expensesEnding balanceDonated goods and services received
Larry Rhoden & Tony VenhuizenNo comparable summaryAn office-matching Larry Rhoden Pre-Primary report exists as an official scanned image. Exact summary fields were not transcribed because the official record was not machine-readable. Missing is not $0. Search the official records.Governor and Lieutenant GovernorRepublican PartyNot availableNot availableNot availableNot availableNot available
Dan Ahlers & Steven McCleereyAhlers for Governor, Pre-Primary, Report filed May 18, 2026; the official summary does not state a coverage-start date. View filing recordGovernor and Lieutenant GovernorDemocratic Party$0.00$67,870.96$8,706.76$59,164.20$0.00
Heather BaxterNo comparable summaryNo exact office-matching Secretary of State financial summary was verified. An available Heather Baxter report was for a legislative office and was not reused. Search the official records.Secretary of StateRepublican PartyNot availableNot availableNot availableNot availableNot available
Tamara J. LesnarNo comparable summaryThe official portal showed a statement of organization, but no comparable financial disclosure summary was verified. Missing is not $0. Search the official records.Secretary of StateLibertarian PartyNot availableNot availableNot availableNot availableNot available
Terrence DavisDavis for South Dakota, Pre-Primary, Report filed May 18, 2026; the official summary does not state a coverage-start date. View filing recordSecretary of StateDemocratic Party$23,426.25$1,685.66$2,605.56$22,506.35$0.00
Lance RussellNo comparable summaryNo exact office-matching, machine-readable Attorney General financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0. Search the official records.Attorney GeneralRepublican PartyNot availableNot availableNot availableNot availableNot available
Catherine BarrancoNo comparable summaryNo exact office-matching, machine-readable State Auditor financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0. Search the official records.State AuditorRepublican PartyNot availableNot availableNot availableNot availableNot available
Tom CoolNo comparable summaryNo exact office-matching, machine-readable State Auditor financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0. Search the official records.State AuditorDemocratic PartyNot availableNot availableNot availableNot availableNot available
Melissa HullNo comparable summaryNo exact office-matching, machine-readable State Treasurer financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0. Search the official records.State TreasurerRepublican PartyNot availableNot availableNot availableNot availableNot available
Margaret KuipersNo comparable summaryAn official statewide statement of organization was identified, but no comparable income and expense report summary was verified. Missing is not $0. Search the official records.State TreasurerDemocratic PartyNot availableNot availableNot availableNot availableNot available
Brock GreenfieldNo comparable summaryNo exact office-matching, machine-readable Commissioner of School and Public Lands financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0. Search the official records.Commissioner of School and Public LandsRepublican PartyNot availableNot availableNot availableNot availableNot available
Raeann MettlerNo comparable summaryNo exact office-matching, machine-readable Commissioner of School and Public Lands financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0. Search the official records.Commissioner of School and Public LandsDemocratic PartyNot availableNot availableNot availableNot availableNot available
Don HaggarNo comparable summaryNo exact office-matching, machine-readable Public Utilities Commissioner financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0. Search the official records.Public Utilities CommissionerRepublican PartyNot availableNot availableNot availableNot availableNot available
Frank KloucekNo comparable summaryNo exact office-matching, machine-readable Public Utilities Commissioner financial summary was verified by October 1, 2026. Missing is not $0. Search the official records.Public Utilities CommissionerDemocratic PartyNot availableNot availableNot availableNot availableNot available
Federal candidate records

South Dakota federal candidate finance

Search FEC records

Federal Election Commission records are separate from the state system. Each verified card states its candidate ID, committee ID, scope, and exact coverage window. Nicole Gronli remains an explicit processed-summary gap.

Federal Election Commission

U.S. Senate

Federal records

Receipts bars use one scale within this race. Read the date and committee scope before comparing candidates.

Republican Party

Mike Rounds

View FEC record
$3,176,450.98Total receipts

January 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. Rounds for Senate, principal campaign committee.

$2,771,991.01Contributions
$2,309,816.14Disbursements
$2,736,663.91Cash on hand
$0.00Debts and loans owed
Identifiers and comparison notes

Candidate ID S4SD00049. Committee ID C00532465. Coverage periods and committee scope may differ. Verify current filings at the linked FEC record.

Independent

Brian L Bengs

View FEC record
$782,049.78Total receipts

April 28, 2025, through June 30, 2026. Bengs for South Dakota, principal campaign committee.

$780,395.77Contributions
$730,644.27Disbursements
$51,405.51Cash on hand
$0.00Debts and loans owed
Identifiers and comparison notes

Candidate ID S6SD01117. Committee ID C00903641. Coverage periods and committee scope may differ. Verify current filings at the linked FEC record.

Federal Election Commission

U.S. Representative, at large

Federal records

Receipts bars use one scale within this race. Read the date and committee scope before comparing candidates.

Republican Party

Marty Jackley

View FEC record
$1,438,706.43Total receipts

July 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026. Marty Jackley for Congress, principal campaign committee.

$1,428,278.60Contributions
$375,981.05Disbursements
$1,062,725.38Cash on hand
$0.00Debts and loans owed
Identifiers and comparison notes

Candidate ID H6SD01109. Committee ID C00909689. Coverage periods and committee scope may differ. Verify current filings at the linked FEC record.

Democratic Party

Nicole "Nikki" Gronli

Search FEC records
Comparable federal summary unavailableMissing here does not mean $0.

An official FEC filing record exists, but no complete processed 2025 through 2026 candidate summary and candidate ID were independently verified for this release. Missing is not $0.

View all federal fields in one table
South Dakota 2026 federal candidate summaries checked October 1, 2026
Candidate and federal identifiersBallot affiliationCoverageReceiptsContributionsDisbursementsCash on handDebts and loans owed
Mike RoundsFEC candidate S4SD00049, C00532465, Rounds for Senate, principal campaign committeeRepublican PartyJanuary 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026$3,176,450.98$2,771,991.01$2,309,816.14$2,736,663.91$0.00
Brian L BengsFEC candidate S6SD01117, C00903641, Bengs for South Dakota, principal campaign committeeIndependentApril 28, 2025, through June 30, 2026$782,049.78$780,395.77$730,644.27$51,405.51$0.00
Marty JackleyFEC candidate H6SD01109, C00909689, Marty Jackley for Congress, principal campaign committeeRepublican PartyJuly 1, 2025, through June 30, 2026$1,438,706.43$1,428,278.60$375,981.05$1,062,725.38$0.00
Nicole "Nikki" GronliDemocratic PartyAn official FEC filing record exists, but no complete processed 2025 through 2026 candidate summary and candidate ID were independently verified for this release. Missing is not $0.Not availableNot availableNot availableNot availableNot available
Matching method

Ballot name first, finance identity second

  1. Start with the official ballotUse the printed name and office as the roster.
  2. Search the correct disclosure systemKeep state and federal records separate.
  3. Publish source fieldsTranscribe the official amounts without silently changing them.
  4. Mark missing comparisonsDo not turn an unavailable figure into $0.

State and federal sources reviewed October 1, 2026. View all official sources.